Committee members

Co-convenor: Florence Bonacina-Pugh

Co-convenor: Elisabeth Barakos

Lecturer in Language Education, The University of Edinburgh

Lecturer in Applied Linguistics, Aston University

twitter @Barakos_E

As passionate language policy scholars, Florence and Elisabeth have together originated the idea of creating and managing a forum of exchange with and for like-minded people engaged in language policy matters. Please reach out to us with any general queries related this group.

Membership secretary: Tae-Hee Choi

Treasurer: Yongcan Liu

Assistant Professor, Department of Education Policy and Leadership, The Education University of Hong Kong

As Membership Secretary, I will help with any issues concerning your membership. My research focuses on English language education and policy/reform processes. I have taught English in South Korea and the US, and engaged in policy advisory in South Korea. I look forward to working with you!

Senior Lecturer in Second Language Education, Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge

I am Treasurer of the Language Policy SIG and look after its budget and finance. I specialise in community/heritage language education and policy, and am convener of Cambridge Research in Community Language Education (CRiCLE) Network (

Events secretary: Rachel O'Neill

Communications secretary: Dave Sayers

Lecturer, School of Education, University of Edinburgh

At Edinburgh my main focus is researching deaf education, training teachers of deaf children, and being Programme Director for the MSc Inclusive Education programme. I also support the work of the Scottish Sensory Centre, based in the School of Education.

Senior Lecturer, Dept Humanities, Sheffield Hallam University; and Honorary Research Fellow, School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University

As Communications Secretary I'm here to look after the website (yes, this design is my fault), manage the email list, and generally keep the electronic gears ticking over in the background. On these matters, please direct any complaints, praise, or celebratory cheese sandwiches in my direction.